

The Corporation of

THE TOWNSHIP OF MELANCTHON

157101 Highway 10, Melancthon, Ontario, L9V 2E6

Telephone - (519) 925-5525 Fax No. - (519) 925-1110

Email: info@melancthontownship.ca

Website: www.melancthontownship.ca

November 12, 2024

County of Dufferin 30 Centre Street Orangeville, Ontario L9W 2Z1

Attention: Michelle Dunne, Clerk

Dear Michelle,

At the meeting of Council held on November 7, 2024, the following motion was introduced and passed:

Moved by Plowright, Seconded by Neilson

Be it resolved that:

"Whereas Melancthon Township has experienced a series of tragic motor vehicle collisions at the corner of Highway 10 and County Road 17; and Whereas traffic volume is increasing through Melancthon, making collisions more

frequent in the Township; and

Whereas the existing two way stop sign is insufficient in addressing the challenge of impatient and distracted motorists; and

Whereas the province is responsible for the intersection in question; and Whereas Dufferin County has a moral duty to advance road safety on all of its roads, regardless of whether specific intersections are under the control of the County or not. Now Therefore Be It Resolved that Melancthon Council requests the County of Dufferin to identify suitable temporary traffic calming measures on County Road 17 to make the road safer; and

Further that the County invite a senior representative from the Ministry of Transportation to appear at the Infrastructure and Environmental Services Committee to discuss the hazardous intersection in question, including the possibility of erecting a set of traffic lights or building a roundabout.

And further that this motion be sent to the Dufferin OPP Detachment Board – Melancthon, Mono, Mulmur; Dufferin OPP Detachment Board – Orangeville; Dufferin OPP Detachment Board – Shelburne; Dufferin OPP Detachment Board – Amaranth, Grand Valley, East Garafraxa; All municipalities in Dufferin County; Township of Southgate; Municipality of Grey Highlands; Sylvia Jones, MPP – Dufferin-Caledon." Carried.

Thank you.

Yours truly,

Denise B. Holmes, AMCT

Dearsi s. Holmer

CAO/Clerk

c. Dufferin OPP Detachment Board – Melancthon, Mono, Mulmur Dufferin OPP Detachment Board – Orangeville

Dufferin OPP Detachment Board – Shelburne

Dufferin OPP Detachment Board – Amaranth, Grand Valley, East Garafraxa

All municipalities in Dufferin County

Township of Southgate

Municipality of Grey Highlands

Sylvia Jones, MPP – Dufferin-Caledon