

TOWNSHIP OF EAST GARAFRAXA

065371 DUFFERIN COUNTY ROAD 3 • UNIT 2

EAST GARAFRAXA • ON • L9W 7J8

T: 226-259-9400 • TOLL FREE: 877-868-5967 • F: 1-226-212-9812

www.eastgarafraxa.ca

March 19, 2025

The Right Honourable Mark Carney Prime Minister of Canada 80 Wellington Street Ottawa ON K1A 0A2 The Honourable Doug Ford Premier of Ontario Legislative Building, Queen's Park Toronto ON M7A 1A1

Re: Township of East Garafraxa Resolution of Support - Request to Provincial and Federal Governments Regarding Distribution of Taxes on Property Transactions

Please be advised that, at its meeting of Council held on January 28, 2025, the Council of the Corporation of the Township of East Garafraxa supported the following resolution received from Town of Orangeville:

Moved By: Councillor Halls Seconded By: Councillor Zukowski

BE IT RESOLVED THAT: Council of the Township of East Garafraxa hereby support the Town of Orangeville resolution with respect to the request to the Provincial and Federal governments regarding distribution of taxes on property transactions.

**CARRIED** 

Enclosed is the above referenced Town of Orangeville resolution.

Sincerely,

Shannon Peart
Administrative Assistant/Clerk's Department
Corporation of the Township of East Garafraxa

Enclosure(s): Town of Orangeville Resolution

cc: Hon. Peter Bethlenfalvy, Minister of Finance for Ontario

Hon. Paul Calandra, Minister of Municipal Affairs and Housing for Ontario

Kyle Seeback, Dufferin-Caledon MP

Hon. Sylvia Jones, Dufferin-Caledon MPP Association of Municipalities of Ontario (AMO) Federation of Canadian Municipalities (FCM)

All Dufferin Municipalities



## **Town of Orangeville**

87 Broadway, Orangeville, ON L9W 1K1 Tel: 519-941-0440 Fax: 519-415-9484

Toll Free: 1-866-941-0440

## **Corporate Services**

November 21, 2024

## Re: Request to Provincial and Federal Government Regarding Distribution of Taxes on Property Transactions

Please be advised that the Council of the Corporation of the Town of Orangeville, at its Regular Council Meeting held on November 18, 2024, approved the following resolution:

Whereas municipalities face growing infrastructure needs, including roads, bridges, public transit, water systems, and other critical services, which are essential to community well-being and economic development; and

Whereas the current sources of municipal revenue, including property taxes and user fees, are insufficient to meet these increasing demands for infrastructure investment; and

Whereas the Province of Ontario currently collects the Land Transfer Tax (LTT) on property transactions in municipalities across the province, generating significant revenue that is not directly shared with municipalities; and

Whereas the Federal Government collects the Goods and Services Tax (GST) on property transactions, a portion of which could be directed to municipalities to address local infrastructure needs; and

Whereas redistributing a portion of the Provincial Land Transfer Tax and GST to municipalities would provide a predictable and sustainable source of funding for local infrastructure projects without creating a new tax burden on residents or homebuyers; and

Whereas a redistribution of a portion of the existing Land Transfer Tax and GST would allow municipalities to better plan and invest in long-term infrastructure initiatives, supporting local economic growth and improving the quality of life for residents;

Now therefore be it resolved that the Town of Orangeville Council formally requests that the Provincial Government consider redistributing a portion of the Land Transfer Tax collected on property transactions to municipalities; and

That Town of Orangeville Council calls on the Federal Government to allocate a percentage of GST collected on property sales to municipalities; and

That this redistribution of the Land Transfer Tax and GST should be structured to provide predictable and sustainable funding to municipalities, allowing for better long-term planning and investment in infrastructure projects that benefit local communities, thus ensuring that local governments receive a fair share of the revenue to address critical infrastructure needs; and

That copies of this resolution be forwarded to the Right Honourable Justin Trudeau, Prime Minister of Canada, Premier Doug Ford, Hon. Peter Bethlenfalvy, Minister of Finance for Ontario, Hon. Paul Calandra, Minister of Municipal Affairs and Housing for Ontario, Dufferin-Caledon MP, Kyle Seeback, Dufferin-Caledon MPP, Hon. Sylvia Jones; and

That copies of this resolution be forwarded to all municipalities in the County of Dufferin, the Federation of Canadian Municipalities (FCM), and to the Association of Municipalities of Ontario (AMO) for their endorsement and advocacy.

**Carried Unanimously** 

Yours truly,
Raylens Martell
-

Raylene Martell

Town Clerk